OverDrive Automatic Checkout Option Ending
Posted By: Webmaster
Date Posted: 12/9/2019
OverDrive is replacing the Automatic Checkout option for holds with a new feature called Hold Redelivery. It will be applied to all new and existing holds when the change is made in early 2020 and will give readers more control over their holds and help waitlists cycle more efficiently. More information will be given when this goes into effect. Here are the differences between the current and future options.
Automatic Checkout Option (current)
Customers that currently have the automatic checkout option enabled on their OverDrive account have their OverDrive items on hold automatically checked out to their account once they become available. This begins the checkout period, which may vary from one to three weeks, depending on a customer's default settings.
Hold Redelivery Option (coming soon)
With the new hold redelivery option, customers with OverDrive items on hold will still get email notifications as an option, but will also get notifications from OverDrive on the Libby app, OverDrive app, and the "Notifications" section of the library's OverDrive website. They will then have one of four options:
- Borrow the title within three days
- Suspend the hold and pass the book to the next person in line. After the suspension period (set by the user), the hold will be redelivered when the next copy is available.
- Cancel the hold.
- Users that take no action will have their hold automtically suspended one time only for seven days. If no action is taken the second time, the hold will be cancelled automatically.
Page Last Modified Wednesday, April 18, 2018